Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: What is regulated electrical equipment (REE)?

It refers to air-conditioners (including inverter air-conditioners), refrigerators, washing machines, televisions, computers, printers, scanners and monitors.

Q2: When will the Scheme come into operation?

It will start from 1 August 2018.

Q3: How are we affected?

From then on when selling new regulated electrical equipment (REE), the REE seller is required to arrange free removal of a used equipment of the same class for the customer. The seller also has to provide the customer with a receipt containing the prescribed wording about the recycling levy, and a recycling label.

Q4: What is the level of the recycling levy? Who pays it?

The levy level is: $15 for each computer, printer or scanner; $45 for each monitor; $125 for each air-conditioner or washing machine; and $165 for each refrigerator or television.

The recycling levy is paid by regulated electrical equipment suppliers to the Environmental Protection Department directly.  To what extent the suppliers will pass on the relevant cost along the supply chain is a commercial decision of the suppliers and sellers concerned.

Q5: Do I have to pay an extra fee to have delivery of the new product and removal of a used equipment arranged on the same day?

Consumers can request the sellers to arrange delivery of the new product and removal of a used equipment on the same day without the need to pay an extra fee to the sellers.

Q6: Is it a breach of law to throw away a used regulated electrical equipment (REE) at a refuse collection point?

While throwing a used REE away at the refuse collection point is currently not prohibited, it is not the most appropriate way to dispose of the REE. Please support proper recycling of used REE for protecting the environment and turning waste into resources. This will also save you the effort for taking the used equipment to the refuse collection point.

Q7: If I am not buying a new regulated electrical equipment, how can I recycle the used equipment?

You may call the collection hotline at 2676 8888 to make an appointment with the Government's recycling service operator for free collection. The schedule of appointment may take longer as the WEEE·PARK operator will accord higher priority to collection requests for statutory removal service. Based on the current booking position, the operator is able to arrange collection of the used items in about a week's time after receipt of the request.

Q8: I'm advised by the seller that the earliest that the Government's recycling service operator could come to collect my used equipment will be a month later. What should I do?

The Government's recycling service operator is fully geared up and deployed additional manpower to attain its performance pledge for collecting the waste equipment three working days after receipt of service request from the sellers. The current booking position shows that it can fulfil this pledge.

If you have to dispose of a used regulated electrical equipment (REE) but are not buying a new REE, please call the recycling hotline 2676 8888 to make an appointment with the Government's recycling service operator for free collection. In this regard, the operator will make full use of its additional manpower to meet the service demand. Based on the current booking position, the operator is able to arrange collection of the used items in about a week's time after receipt of the request.

If the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) finds any suspected cases of non-compliance with the legal requirements on the part of the sellers or its staff, e.g. providing misleading information to the consumers in respect of the time required for arranging the statutory removal service, EPD will further investigate and take enforcement actions as necessary.

Q9: I'm advised that I have to contact the Government's recycling service operator myself to arrange the removal of the used equipment. Is it true?

No. The seller is required to contact the designated collector(s) (including the Government's recycling service operator) named in its statutory removal service plan to arrange the collection service for its customer.

Q10: I'm advised to get an "upgraded service" to have the new product delivered and installed, and the used item dismantled and removed on the day of purchase, but at an extra fee. Is this okay?

The seller should be able to arrange delivery of the new product and removal of the used equipment on the same day if this is to be arranged three working days after the day of purchase. The seller may however offer other value-added services at a charge. Consumers may choose a service that suits their needs.

Q11: What is the use of the recycling label? Can it be used to request removal service?

After purchasing regulated electrical equipment (REE), the consumers should obtain from the seller a suitable recycling label for such equipment before/when receiving the new equipment.   The recycling label aims to help consumers identify REE that is distributed under the Producer Responsibility Scheme on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment. Consumers do not need to surrender a recycling label in order to request for the statutory removal service.

Q12: If I purchased regulated electrical equipment (REE) from abroad and brought it back to Hong Kong for personal use, am I subject to the recycling levy?

Consumers are not subject to the recycling levy for the REE purchased from abroad for personal use.  However, if the equipment is further distributed (i.e. parallel trading), the person is regarded as a supplier / seller under the Producer Responsibility Scheme on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment and is subject to the relevant statutory obligations.

Q13: What should consumer pay attention to when opting to use the statutory removal service arranged by the seller?

Consumers using the statutory remove service should note that:

(a) the old item must stand alone, free from any installations, connections or obstructions to facilitate removal;

(b) the old item should be kept clean and tidy. In the event of serious hygiene problems (e.g. rancid foods, infestation of cockroaches and ants), the collector may refuse to remove such item and the consumer may not request for another free removal service again.

There may be some variations in the removal services arranged by different sellers. Consumers are advised to refer to the relevant terms of service before making a choice.

Q14: When a consumer purchases new regulated electrical equipment (REE), can consumers handle the old REE on their own and opt out the free removal service provided by the sellers?

Consumers have the right to keep the old REE for their own use, for donation or other purposes.  If consumers eventually decide to dispose of the used REE, they can  send the used REE to licensed recyclers for handling, or make use of the Government's recycling channels including the Recycling Hotline (2676 8888), Community Green Stations or E-waste Collection Vehicles, so as to ensure the proper recycling of these equipment, achieving resource recovery and turning waste into resources.

Q15: Are household refrigerators, and other commercial refrigerators/ freezers with rated total storage volume exceeding 500L regarded as regulated electrical equipment (REE)? How do members of the public handle such kind of electrical equipment?

Under the Product Eco-responsibility Ordinance (Cap. 603), household refrigerators and other commercial refrigerator/ freezers with rated total storage volume exceeding 500L are not regarded as regulated electrical equipment (REE). Hence, suppliers are not required to pay the recycling levy, and sellers are not required to provide the statutory removal service for customers of such kind of electrical equipment.

Under the Producer Responsibility Scheme on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WPRS), WEEE · PARK collects and treats REE items only. Members of the public can hand over non-regulated household electrical appliances, including household refrigerators with rated total storage volume exceeding 500L, to Community Green Stations for proper handling. For details, please click here.

Q16: Is there any special arrangement for collection service during typhoon or rainstorm?

When the Typhoon Warning Signal No. 8 (or above) or Black Rainstorm Warning is in force, the WEEE·PARK operator's recycling hotline and collection service will be suspended. After the cancellation of the warning signal, the operator will contact affected users as soon as possible and reschedule the collection service to about 2 to 4 days later.

Q17: What should I do if I have enquiries or want to file a complaint?

Please call EPD's enquiry hotline at 2838 3111 if you have any enquiries or want to file a complaint concerning the implementation of the scheme.

常見問題

Q1: 「四電一腦」包括哪些產品?
空調機(冷暖氣機)、雪櫃、洗衣機、電視機、電腦、打印機、掃描器和顯示器。
Q2: 計劃何時生效?

計劃於2018年8月1日起生效。

Q3: 對一般市民有何影響?

以後大家買新的「四電一腦」時,銷售商要為顧客安排免費上門移走屬相同類別的舊電器。同時要在收據上載明循環再造徵費的字句,和提供循環再造標籤。

Q4: 循環再造徵費多少錢?誰支付?

循環再造徵費水平為:電腦、打印機、掃描器  每件15元;顯示器  每件45元;空調機、洗衣機  每件125元;雪櫃、電視機  每件165元。

循環再造徵費由「四電一腦」供應商直接向環境保護署支付。不過,供應商可能會沿着供應鏈分擔有關支出,這是供應商和銷售商的商業決定。

Q5: 安排同日送新貨和收走舊件是否要額外付費?

市民可要求銷售商在同日安排運送新件和移走舊件,而不須向銷售商額外付費。

Q6: 將舊「四電一腦」棄置在垃圾站是否違法?

儘管把舊電器掉去垃圾站現時不屬違法,但做法並不恰當。令舊電器妥善回收,可保護環境,轉廢為材。市民亦可免除自行把這些舊電器掉去垃圾站的工作。

Q7: 如非購買新的「四電一腦」,有甚麼途徑回收件舊電器?

即使沒有購買新「四電一腦」,市民亦可自行致電回收熱線2676 8888,預約政府營辦商安排上門免費收走舊件。 不過,由於WEEE · PARK營辦商會優先處理法定除舊服務的收集要求,所以上門回收其他舊件的時間就需要排期。按現時的預約情況,營辦商可於一星期左右安排上門回收舊件。

Q8: 銷售商告訴我政府回收服務營辦商的預約要排期到一個月後才可上門收走舊件。我該如何是好?

政府回收服務營辦商已作好全面準備,額外加強人手,以達致在收到銷售商要求三個工作天後就能上門收集舊電器的服務承諾。政府營辦商現時的預約情況,足可履行這個承諾。

至於沒有購買新「四電一腦」但需回收舊電器的市民,可致電回收熱線2676 8888,預約政府營辦商安排上門免費收走舊件。就這方面,政府營辦商會善用已增加的額外人手,回應市民的回收需求。按現時的預約情況,營辦商可安排於一星期左右上門回收舊件。

若環境保護署發現銷售商或其職員涉嫌違反有關的法例規定,例如就法定除舊服務所需的時間作出失實的說法誤導消費者,必定會跟進調查和採取所需的執法行動。

Q9: 銷售商告訴我要自己聯絡政府回收服務營辦商安排上門收走舊件。真的嗎?

不對。銷售商有法定責任為顧客聯絡其法定除舊服務方案內的指定收集者(包括政府營辦商)安排上門收集服務。

Q10: 銷售商告訴我有「升級服務」,在購物當日送貨、安裝、拆除同搬走舊件,但要額外付費。這可以嗎?

若選擇運送新件和移走舊件的日子是在購物當日之後的第三個工作天或以後,銷售商應可安排在同日送新件和移走舊件,而毋須就除舊服務額外付費。但銷售商可能會提供其他收費服務,例如拆除冷氣機,在購物當日送貨及同時搬走舊電器,顧客可按自己需要選擇合適的服務安排。

Q11: 循環再造標籤有甚麼作用?能否用以要求除舊服務?

消費者購買受管制電器後,應在收到新電器時或之前,從銷售商取得適當的循環再造標籤。循環再造標籤旨在協助消費者識別在廢電器電子產品生產者責任計劃下分發的受管制電器。消費者無需憑標籤要求除舊服務。

Q12: 我從外地直接購入受管制電器自用,是否需要繳付循環再造徵費?

消費者如在外地購入並自用的受管制電器,則無須繳付循環再造徵費,但如再作為商業行為分發(即「平行進口」),便會視作為供應商及銷售商,需履行廢電器電子產品生產者責任計劃下所規定的責任。

Q13: 消費者在接受銷售商安排的法定除舊服務時,有甚麼要注意的地方?

接受銷售商安排的法定除舊服務時,消費者一般應注意以下事項:

(a) 舊件應獨立放置,脫離任何裝置、連接系統,以便易於取走;
(b) 舊件應保持整潔。如有嚴重的衞生問題(例如:有餿汁殘渣、蟑螂、螞蟻),收集人員有權拒絕移走該舊件,而消費者或不能再要求另一次免費除舊服務。

各銷售商提供的除舊服務或會略有差異,消費者應參閱各銷售商的條款以作選擇。

Q14: 當消費者購買新「四電一腦」時,可否不使用銷售商提供的免費除舊服務,而把舊「四電一腦」自行處理?

消費者當然可以保留舊件作自用、捐贈或其他用途。如消費者最終需要棄置舊的「四電一腦」,他們可以把舊件交給持牌回收商處理,或善用政府的回收熱線2676 8888、綠在區區和地區回收車等渠道妥善回收四電一腦,以確保這些廢電器電子產品得到妥善處理,達致資源循環和轉廢為材。

Q15: 額定總容積超過500公升的家用雪櫃、其他商用雪櫃或冷櫃是否受管制電器?市民應如何處理這類電器?

在《產品環保責任條例》(第603 章)下,額定總容積超過500公升的家用雪櫃、其他商用雪櫃及冷櫃等並不屬受管制電器,因此電器供應商不需要為此類電器繳付循環再造徵費,銷售商亦不需為購買此類電器的消費者提供法定除舊服務。

在廢電器電子產品生產者責任計劃下,WEEE · PARK只會接收和處理受管制電器。市民可以把不受管制的家用電器,包括額定總容積超過500公升的家用雪櫃,交予「綠在區區」妥善處理,詳情請按此

Q16: 在颱風或暴雨時,收集服務有沒有特別的安排?

8號或以上強風訊號或黑色暴雨警告生效期間,WEEE · PARK營辦商將暫停回收熱線及上門回收服務。營辦商會在颱風或暴雨警告除下後盡快聯絡受影響的用戶,重新安排於約2至4天後上門回收舊件。

Q17: 我有疑問或者投訴,可以如何得到協助?

市民如對計劃的實施有任何查詢或投訴,可致電環境保護署查詢熱線2838 3111。